Welcome to the 9th annual South African Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards.

9th Annual Savanna Comic's Choice Awards

For 2019, the Savanna CCA’s continues to evolve. With a record number of comedians registering to participate across the African continent, record numbers of South African comics getting involved, and the public getting even greater say in who takes home a Waldo, the SCCA’s continue to hold the SA Comedy flag high.

Ever innovating to improve the system, this year the following changes have been announced:

  • The Headliner of the Year Award replaces the Savanna Comic Of The Year Award.
  • The Savanna Comic Of The Year Award - possibly the most sought after award and considered the apex of the Comics’ Choice Awards, replaces The Gamechanger Award. This means ALL registered South African comedians are eligible to take home the Savanna Comic of the Year Award, opening the playing field for any comic who makes huge progress in their career. )
  • The Audience Choice Award is now open to Pan-African Comedians and voting is opened globally to welcome African and global audiences to add their voice to the process.

In addition, all feedback gathered from the industry has been incorporated wherever possible. Upgraded definitions on the T’s and C’s; award categories and category entry eligibility criteria as well as improvements to the system code and a revision of the voting process will all contribute to making the SCCA’s a world-class celebration of African comedy talent.

The organisers promise not only a slick and seamless voting process, but another brilliant series of comedy industry gatherings to recognise excellence unapologetically.